Dear Fellow Alumni, Parents, and Friends,


We had quite the end to a remarkable school year for Bishop McDevitt! Your generosity resulted in over $1.8 million dollars raised for beloved school. Your gifts help support financial aid and scholarship, technology upgrades, resources for our academic departments, clubs, the athletic and arts programs, and facility upkeep. 


Our students had another banner year! We are so proud of their accomplishments in and our of the classroom! Below are some noted Crusader accolades: 

-  Top placements at the Capital Area Science & Engineer Fair and FBLA Regional Competition

- Two National Medalists for the 2019 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

- Marching Band won 2 Tournament of Band Competitions

- Two students made district band with one going the whole way to the All-State Wind Ensemble

- Students accepted into the Rotary Youth Exchange Summer Program and HOBY World Leadership Conference

- McDevitt Chorale performed at the Heinz Chapel Choral Festival

- Football, Boys Basketball, Boys Swimming and three wrestlers crowned District III Champions

- Five teams made the PIAA State Playoff with Boys Swim Team 400 yd Relay winning the state title

- Inaugual volleyball season

- Inaugural e-Sports team

- Apollo Award for best dance for this year's Cinderella 

In July, we welcomed David Gardiner to Bishop McDevitt as our new president. Mr. Gardiner hails from DeMatha Catholic, where he was a faculty and administrator for nearly 20 years. Mr. Gardiner's goal is to unite our alumni and families of Catholic High and Bishop McDevitt to our current home on 1 Crusader Way. In doing so, we plan to do a regional event tour and encourage you to attend one in your area! Visit the Reunion and Regional Events tab to find one in your area.

Thank you again for kindness, generosity and support for the 2018-2019 school year! 

Once a Crusader, Always a Crusader!


Yours in Blue & Gold,



Erin Connaghan Davis ’08

Director of Advancement

Erin (Connaghan) Davis '08

Director of Advancement

Crusader Connection Committee


“Connecting our past to our future.”

The Crusader Connection Committee (CCC) is dedicated to the preservation of the history and historical artifacts of Harrisburg Catholic/Bishop McDevitt High School.  The mission of the Committee is to explore and preserve our school’s history from its inception in 1918 to the present day through documents, photos, audiovisual media and records.

Committee members are in the process of compiling and organizing various archival properties, which range from printed material such as commencement programs and newspaper clippings to physical memorabilia such as buttons, banners and athletic uniforms. The CCC is seeking the assistance of the Crusader community for the donation of archival material to help complete our collections, as well as volunteer time and expertise and tax deductible contributions to support the cost of preservation and storage.

Copies of photos and other historical items are available currently on a limited basis.  Requests or queries about the CCC may be made by email to the committee at, or in writing to:


Bishop McDevitt High School CCC

c/o John Brixius

1 Crusader Way

Harrisburg, PA 17111


Monetary donations should be sent to the same address, with checks made payable to Bishop McDevitt High School.

Updates on the progress of the committee’s work and on the permanent location of the archives at the new school will be available soon.

In Memorium

We prayerfully remember the souls of our fellow Alumni have continued onto eternal rest. 

July 1, 2018 - June 30, 2019

Mrs. Mary Theresa Bobitz Malinak '40

Mr. Albert S. Schmidt, Jr.'41

Mrs. Anne Bernadette Brennan Buller '43

Mr. John Thomas Diffendall '43

Ms. Gertrude Evelyn Soulliard '43

Mrs. Julia Verbos Skender '44

Mrs. Margaret Mary McMahon Wilder '45

Mr. Paul William Yetter '45

Mrs. Josephine Mary Guerrisi Bricker '47

Mrs. Mary Beth McCarthy Kenny '47

Mr. Robert Arnold Zellers, Sr. '47

Mr. William Martin Bratina '48

Mrs. Anna Eleanor Vasco Gunnett '48

Mrs. Rose Theresa Sawyer Placey '48

Mrs. Helen Theresa Misiti Suknaic '48

Mrs. Catherine Theresa Behofist Wells '48

Mr .Laurence James Salinger '49

Mr. Joseph Richard Yanci '50

Mr. George Andrew Cavrich '51

Mrs. Ruth Naomi Rhoads Ford' 51

Mr. Mark Michael Sullivan '51

Ms. Pauline Claire Duncan '52

Mr. Albert Joseph Bitner '52

Mr. Thomas K. Desch '52

Mr. William Joseph Krasovic '52

Ms. Jeanette Evelyn Moe '52

Mrs. Virginia Clare Yetter Zuvich '52

Mr. Edward Eugene Loncar '53

Mr. James Martin Forjan '53

Mr. Paul Edward Towsen, Jr. '55

Mrs. Jean Ann Belicic Conz '55

Mrs. Veronica Ann Veatch McCollum '55

Mr. Hubert Thomas Rozman '55

Mrs. Samina Violet Felix Alexander '56

Deacon John Albert Mowery '56

Mrs. Rosemarie Rita Bratina Madara '57

Mrs. Kathleen Margaret Stianche Stago '57

Ms. Nathalie Anne Brown '57

Ms. Theresa Bice LaTorre '58

Mrs. Barbara Ann Crea Romanowski '58

Mrs. Maryann Frances Matthews McKee '60

Mrs.Mary Ann Frances Handley Kaufmann '60

Mrs. Barbara Ann Egresitz McNichol '60

Mr. Joseph Michael Colardo '61

Mr. Michael Joseph Grab '61

Mrs. Mary Louise Mammola Hogan '61

Mrs. Gladys Rose Galdino Cunjak '62

Mrs. Doreen Paulette Hoke Rovito '62

Mr. Edward Jay Kane '62

Mr. Dennis Michael Furjanic '63

Mr. Jerome John Botchie '64

Mrs. Elayne L. Mack Batts '64

Mr. Frederick William Zeplin '64

Mr. Terrence Lee Hart '64

Mrs. Andrea Jayne Berry Kornblue '65

Mrs. Rosemary Keefer Bradl '65

Mr.Anthony Philip Vajda '65

Mr.John David Zales '65

Mrs. Valerie Ann Mayfield Fegan '66

Mrs. Lorraine Ann Runk Schell '66

Mrs. Christine A. Ramus Burke '67

Mr. Joseph Eugene Caloiero '67

Mr. Edward Thomas Williams '69

Mr. Edward Thomas Wojdylak, Jr. '70

Mr. Nicodemo Salvadore Spagnolo '71

Ms. Cynthia Ann Kochenour '72

Mr. Frank Anthony Magnelli '72

Mr. Neil Joseph McElwee '72

Mrs. Patricia Lynn Ogden Harris Pell '73

Mr. Leo Dexter Franklin '74

Mrs. Christina Marie Gould Holloway '75

Ms. Mary Josephine Sherrick '76

Mrs. Ann Marie Mihalik Orris '77

Ms. Natalie Jo Cibort '91

Mr. Nathaniel Stephen Zapcic '00

Mr. Vincent Joseph Lochetto '07

PARENTS                                 CONTACT

Bishop McDevitt High School

1 Crusader Way
Harrisburg, PA 17111

 PHONE: 717.236.7973
FAX: 717-234-1270

  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

© Copyright 2018  |  Bishop McDevitt High School  |  Privacy Policy